JUSTICE announces new Council members

The Board of JUSTICE, the law reform and human rights organisation, has co-opted new Council members, following the Annual General Meeting on 19 October 2022 in the year the charity celebrated its 65th year anniversary.

Co-opted to the charity’s Council for one year are the Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Buckland KC MP (former Secretary of State for Justice and Lord Chancellor), Vikram Sachdeva KC (39 Essex Chambers), Sultana Tafadar KC (No5 Chambers), and Edward Timpson CBE KC MP (MP for Eddisbury and former Solicitor General for England and Wales).

JUSTICE has been at the forefront of law reform in the United Kingdom since 1957, aiming to promote a fairer and more accessible justice system for all, carrying out research and generating practical, workable recommendations for reform. JUSTICE has a history of scrutinising and challenging developments within the justice system that threaten the country’s adherence to human rights and the rule of law.

JUSTICE’s work is overseen by its members via its Council, overseen by Council President Baroness Kennedy of the Shaws KC and Vice Presidents, the Rt. Hon. Dominic Grieve KC, and Baroness Sarah Ludford.

JUSTICE’s Chief Executive, Fiona Rutherford, said:

As a cross-party charity, it is vital that our Governance and membership reflects the breadth of the justice sector and represents the whole of the UK. We are pleased to welcome our new Council members, who bring with them experience from a variety of careers and jurisdictions, with expertise which will enrichen and inform our work. I look forward to working with them all.”

The full Board and Council members can be found here.