Lord Dyson and Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd join JUSTICE Council

JUSTICE  elected new representatives to its Council and Board at its Annual General Meeting on Tuesday 24 October 2017.

The new JUSTICE Council members are:

  • Zahra Al-Rikabi is a barrister at Brick Court Chambers with a broad practice encompassing commercial, public and European law.
  • Lord Dyson was Master of the Rolls for four years until he retired in October 2016.
  • Sonali Naik is a member of Garden Court Chambers. Her specialist practice areas are judicial review cases regarding immigration and asylum. Sonali is heavily involved in the NGO sector by being a Council member of Liberty, Board member of Clean Break Theatre Company, and trustee of Freedom for Torture and Immigrants’ Aid Trust.
  • Andrew Onslow QC practices at 3VB, his main areas of practice are general commercial litigation and arbitration, banking and finance, fraud, professional negligence and art and cultural property. Andrew has regularly sat as an arbitrator and sits as a Chairman of Bar Disciplinary Tribunals.
  • David Sheldon, is General Counsel EMEA for Crédit Agricole CIB.
  • Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd was, until the end of September, the Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales.

The full list of the JUSTICE Council can be found here

The new elected Board members are:

  • Peter Binning is a Partner at Corker Binning and is recognised as a leading investigatory lawyer by Who’s Who Legal: Investigations 2016 and is also ranked as a leading individual for ‘Fraud: White-Collar Crime’ by Legal 500 2016.
  • Liz Campbell was the Director of Wellbeing of Women from 2006 to 2014. Prior to joining Wellbeing Liz was an Independent Member, vice-Chairman and Chairman of the Surrey Police Authority and National Lead for Professional Standards and Probationer Training and a member of Police Negotiating Board.
  • Alexandra Carr is a senior associate in the litigation team at Howard Kennedy, with seven years post-qualification experience. She is actively involved in her firm’s Pro Bono initiatives, including regularly volunteering with the Toynbee Hall Free Legal Advice Clinics and with LawWorks.
  • Deba Das is a senior associate at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer in their EU disputes team, specialising in contentious competition matters, commercial public law, and business and human rights. He has acted pro bono for clients including the British Red Cross, JUSTICE and the AIRE Centre on matters concerning EU free movement, equalities law and rights of the child.
  • Kate Saunders is a Senior Public Policy Manager at the Guardian and works in dialogue with policymakers in Westminster, Whitehall and Brussels, and with journalists, NGOs and academics on issues that affect the media. Prior to this she was a solicitor, working in private practice (as a finance solicitor at Clifford Chance LLP), law reform (as corporate and commercial policy lead at the Law Society and as a consultant at Weber Shandwick) and human rights (as a secondee to Liberty).

The full list of the JUSTICE Board can be found here

Following the AGM, Max Hill QC, Independent Reviewer of Terrorism Legislation, delivered the 2017 Tom Sargant Memorial Lecture ‘Rights vs Security: the challenge engaged’. More information, including the full text of the speech is available here on our website.

Read a press release about the JUSTICE Annual General Meeting 2017